Loooong Road to Louisiana

Monday, October 15, until Wednesday afternoon, October 17, were spent glued to the steering wheel as I gobbled up nearly 1,500 miles en route to Louisiana. Leaving Ithaca, NY, on Monday morning, I faced rain and highway construction for the first half of the day. Near Roanoke, VA, I came across some stranded motorists. They needed help, and I needed a break. An hour or so later, I decided it was too late to get back on the road, so I stayed at a VERY funky motel in Roanoke. I got back on the road before 8 a.m. on Tuesday and burned about 750 miles. I was starting to fade when the presidential debate came on, which perked me up for the next 90 miles or so. I turned in about 10 p.m. at Hattiesburg, MS. I drove the remaining four hours to Lafayette, LA, on Wednesday, arriving with 10 minutes to spare at the studios of KRVS radio on the campus of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Here is a photo essay about my trip south.

Leave a Reply

