I Done Done It! (Wrap Up)

I can’t believe I did it! I can’t believe it is over! I can’t believe how cool the whole experience was!! This tour was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and I am grateful to my wife, Cathy, my son, George, my employers at the West Virginia Division of Culture and History, and all of the other kind and generous people who made this possible.

I arrived home late Monday night, November 5, teetering on November 6. It was a long final day, driving from Kalamazoo, MI, to my home in Charleston, WV, with a very enjoyable stop in Lexington, KY, to see my oldest son, Mason, at Transylvania University.

In all, I was on the road 56 days (plus a three-day stopover at home in late September). In addition to car travel, I took 14 airplanes, three boats, and a train, traveling approximately 15,956 miles. I visited or traveled through 19 states and two Canadian provinces. I performed 38 shows in 32 cities, was a house guest in 18 homes, performed on seven radio stations, did two festivals, seven house concerts, three school shows, and more than a few honky tonks. I performed two shows with full bands, one show as a duo (with the talented Tania Elizabeth), and several numbers with my friend Brennen Leigh. I also sat in with several bands on my “nights off,” and went out to hear live music whenever I could.

Best guess is that I took 1,129 photographs. Here are a few highlights.

Harvest time in Saskatchewan.

Vancouver Island

Skagway, Alaska

Talkeetna, Alaska

New York City

Niagara Falls, New York

Rochester, New York

Henderson, Louisiana

Fort Worth, Texas

Thanks again to everyone who helped make this dream a reality. I’ll never forget it!

9 thoughts on “I Done Done It! (Wrap Up)

  1. What an outstanding adventure, John! Glad you are home all safe and sound. I am enough of a geek that I’d like to see all 1,129 photos. You are blessed, indeed, to have so many friends along the journey.

  2. I was at SXSW. Had my ears caressed by Emily Gimble’s vocals and keyboards at Jo’s Coffeehouse. The next act was over-amped Louisiana swamp rock. I needed to clear my ears. Found the antidote. You were singing behind Amelia’s. When I checked your website, I saw that Brennen Leigh was on the “Cold Comfort” album. I was home. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

